For an area outside of Lower Saxony and foreign languages, some menu items and functions are not available. Please go to the service page of the respective country.

For Citizens

Enter your place of residence or the place where you would like to contact the administration or use the location determination.

Natura 2000

The Natura 2000 ecological network plays a crucial role in efforts to protect biodiversity in Europe.

Natura 2000 is the European Union's protected area system, which is being established for the first time across Europe on a uniform basis. It summarises the areas designated by the Member States under Directive 2009/147/EC on the conservation of wild birds (EC Birds Directive) and the sites designated by the Member States under Directive 92/43/EEC on the conservation of natural habitats and wild animals and plants (FFH Directive) and provides uniform safeguards. All animal and plant species and habitats for which such protected areas must be designated are listed in Annexes I and II to the Habitats Directive and Annex I to the EC Birds Directive.

Until 3 December 2010, Lower Saxony

  • 71 EU bird protection areas and
  • 385 FFH areas

notified to the EU as Natura 2000 sites. This corresponds to about 16.1 percent of the land area (including marine areas).

Information on the areas of Natura 2000 is provided by the competent authority.

Source: Serviceportal Niedersachsen (Portalverbund des Bundes und der Länder)

Top of the Page