Please enter a search term.
Please note:You can only obtain complete information if you indicate the place of residence, the place of business or the building project, depending on the procedure.

Licence to practise as a veterinarian in the case of professional qualification from third countries


The profession of veterinarian is regulated in Germany. This means that in order for you to be able to work as a veterinarian in Germany without restriction, you need a license to practice medicine. The approbation is the state approval for the profession. This means that you are not allowed to work independently as a veterinarian without a license to practice medicine. Even with a professional qualification from a so-called third country, you can obtain a license to practice medicine in Germany. Third countries are all countries that do not belong to the European Union (EU), the European Economic Area (EEA) or Switzerland.

In order to obtain the licence to practise medicine, you must have your foreign professional qualification recognised. In the recognition procedure, the competent authority compares your professional qualification with the German professional qualification and checks its equivalence. The equivalence of the professional qualification is an important prerequisite for the granting of the approbation.

In addition to the equivalence of the professional qualification, you must also meet other requirements for the issuance of the permit. Other requirements are, for example, sufficient knowledge of the German language and health suitability.

If your professional qualification comes from the EU, EEA or Switzerland, different regulations apply.
You can also apply for the procedure from abroad.

Process flow

Application
You submit an application for a licence to practise as a veterinarian with the competent authority.
The competent authority will then check whether your training corresponds to the German training and whether all other requirements are met. The licence to practise medicine can only be granted if your education from a third country is equivalent to your German education.
 

Equivalence test
The competent authority compares your professional qualification with the German professional qualification. The competent authority will check whether your professional qualification is equivalent. The professional qualification is equivalent if there are no significant differences between your foreign professional qualification and the German professional qualification.
 

Possible results of the exam
If your professional qualification is equivalent, your foreign professional qualification will be recognised. The authority can confirm the result to you in writing. You still have to meet the other requirements and prove your language skills. Then you will be granted a licence to practise as a veterinarian.

Are there any significant differences between your professional qualification and the German professional qualification? You may be able to make up for the differences through your professional practice, other veterinary knowledge, or skills. You must provide proof of professional experience. Knowledge and skills must be certified by an authority of the state in which you acquired the knowledge or skills.

However, it may not be possible to compensate for the essential differences by this knowledge. The competent authority will tell you the main differences and why you cannot compensate for the significant differences through your professional practice. The decision from the competent authority also states the level of your training and the level required in Germany.
 

Knowledge test
If your professional qualification is not equivalent, you can take a compensatory measure. You can take a knowledge test to compensate for the significant differences. The knowledge test is based on the final examination as a veterinarian in Germany.
If you pass the knowledge test and meet all other requirements, you will be granted a licence to practise as a veterinarian.

Requirements

  • You have a professional qualification as a veterinarian from a third country.
  • You want to work as a veterinarian in Germany.
  • Personal suitability: You are reliable to work as a veterinarian and have no criminal record.
  • Health suitability: You can work mentally and physically as a veterinarian.
  • You have German language skills at the required level. As a rule, these are language skills at level B2 according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) and medical language skills at level C1.

Which documents are required?

  • Proof of identity (e.g. passport or ID card)
  • Marriage certificate (if your name has changed as a result of marriage)
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Proof of your professional qualification (e.g. certificates, professional certificate)
  • Proof of the content and duration of your training (e.g. Diploma Supplement, Transcript of Records)
  • Proof of your relevant professional experience as a veterinarian (e.g. job references)
  • Declaration that you have not yet submitted an application for a licence to practise medicine in Germany
  • You must prove that you are allowed to work in the profession in your country of training.
  • Are you from a third country and do not yet live or work in the EU, the EEA or Switzerland? Then you have to prove that you want to work in the profession in Germany. Evidence includes, for example, applications for a job, invitations to job interviews or a location note from the Central Service Centre for Professional Recognition (ZSBA).

In most cases, you will hand in the following documents later:

  • Proof of your personal suitability: extract from the criminal record or official certificate of good conduct. The proof must be no more than 3 months old at the time of application.
  • Proof of your health suitability: Medical certificate. The proof must be no more than 3 months old at the time of application.
     

You will need to submit the documents in the form of copies. In certain cases, the competent authority may require certified copies of the documents.
If your documents are not in German, you must submit German translations of your documents. Translations must be carried out by translators who are publicly appointed or authorised.

What are the fees?

The costs generally depend on the amount of work involved.

In addition, additional costs may arise (e.g. for translations or certifications). These costs vary from person to person.

Appeal

You can take legal action against the decision of the competent authority within a certain period of time (e.g. lodge an appeal). The decision will then be reviewed. Details on this can be found in the information on legal remedies at the end of your decision. We recommend that you first talk to the competent authority before taking legal action against the decision.

What else should I know?

Temporary Professional Permit

You can apply for a temporary professional permit if there is a special interest. With the temporary professional permit, you are usually allowed to work for up to 4 years without a license to practice medicine. The professional permit only entitles the holder to work in a restricted capacity. You must meet the following requirements for the temporary professional permit:

  • Proof of your professional qualification
  • Health suitability
  • Personal suitability
  • German language skills: You must provide proof of the German language skills required to practice the profession.

You can apply for the professional permit at the competent authority.
 

Certificate of equivalence

In the approbation procedure, the equivalence of your training can also be checked. If you have a legitimate interest, you can apply for a separate decision on the result of the examination.


Procedure for ethnic German repatriates

As a late repatriate, you can either go through the recognition procedure in accordance with the laws mentioned here or in accordance with the Federal Expellees Act. This is up to you. The competent authority will advise you on which procedure is right for you.

Technically approved by

Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture

Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training

Professionally released on

26.01.2023

Author

The text was automatically translated based on the German content.

Source: Serviceportal Niedersachsen (Portalverbund des Bundes und der Länder)

Bitte geben Sie einen Suchbegriff an.
Bitte beachten Sie:Vollständige Information können Sie nur erhalten, wenn Sie je nach Verfahren den Wohnort, den Ort der Betriebsstätte oder des Bauvorhabens angeben.

Approbation als Tierärztin oder Tierarzt bei Berufsqualifikation aus Drittstaaten Erteilung


Der Beruf Tierärztin oder Tierarzt ist in Deutschland reglementiert. Das bedeutet: Damit Sie in Deutschland als Tierärztin oder Tierarzt ohne Einschränkung arbeiten können, brauchen Sie die Approbation. Die Approbation ist die staatliche Zulassung zu dem Beruf. Das bedeutet, dass Sie ohne Approbation nicht selbständig als Tierärztin oder Tierarzt arbeiten dürfen. Auch mit einer Berufsqualifikation aus einem sogenannten Drittstaat können Sie in Deutschland die Approbation erhalten. Drittstaaten sind alle Staaten, die nicht zur Europäischen Union (EU), dem Europäischen Wirtschaftsraum (EWR) oder der Schweiz gehören.

Um die Approbation zu erhalten, müssen Sie Ihre ausländische Berufsqualifikation anerkennen lassen. Im Anerkennungsverfahren vergleicht die zuständige Stelle Ihre Berufsqualifikation mit der deutschen Berufsqualifikation und prüft die Gleichwertigkeit. Die Gleichwertigkeit der Berufsqualifikation ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung für die Erteilung der Approbation.

Neben der Gleichwertigkeit der Berufsqualifikation müssen Sie noch weitere Voraussetzungen für die Erteilung der Erlaubnis erfüllen. Weitere Voraussetzungen sind zum Beispiel ausreichende deutsche Sprachkenntnisse und die gesundheitliche Eignung.

Wenn Ihre Berufsqualifikation aus der EU, dem EWR oder Schweiz stammt, gelten andere Regelungen.
Den Antrag für das Verfahren können Sie auch aus dem Ausland stellen.

Verfahrensablauf

Antragstellung
Sie stellen einen Antrag auf Erteilung der Approbation als Tierärztin oder Tierarzt bei der zuständigen Stelle.
Die zuständige Stelle überprüft dann, ob Ihre Ausbildung der deutschen Ausbildung entspricht und ob alle weiteren Voraussetzungen vorliegen. Die Approbation kann nur erteilt werden, wenn Ihre Ausbildung aus einem Drittstaat mit der deutschen Ausbildung gleichwertig ist.
 

Prüfung der Gleichwertigkeit
Die zuständige Stelle vergleicht Ihre Berufsqualifikation mit der deutschen Berufsqualifikation. Die zuständige Stelle prüft, ob Ihre Berufsqualifikation gleichwertig ist. Die Berufsqualifikation ist gleichwertig, wenn es keine wesentlichen Unterschiede zwischen Ihrer ausländischen Berufsqualifikation und der deutschen Berufsqualifikation gibt.
 

Mögliche Ergebnisse der Prüfung
Wenn Ihre Berufsqualifikation gleichwertig ist, wird Ihre ausländische Berufsqualifikation anerkannt. Die Behörde kann Ihnen das Ergebnis schriftlich bestätigen. Sie müssen noch die weiteren Voraussetzungen erfüllen und Ihre Sprachkenntnisse nachweisen. Dann wird Ihnen die Approbation als Tierärztin oder Tierarzt erteilt.

Gibt es wesentliche Unterschiede zwischen Ihrer Berufsqualifikation und der deutschen Berufsqualifikation? Vielleicht können Sie die Unterschiede durch Ihre Berufspraxis, andere tierärztliche Kenntnisse oder Fähigkeiten ausgleichen. Die Berufspraxis müssen Sie nachweisen. Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten muss eine Behörde des Staates bescheinigen, in dem Sie die Kenntnisse oder Fähigkeiten erworben haben.

Es kann aber sein, dass die wesentlichen Unterschiede nicht durch diese Kenntnisse ausgeglichen werden können. Die zuständige Stelle nennt Ihnen die wesentlichen Unterschiede und warum Sie die wesentlichen Unterschiede nicht durch Ihre Berufspraxis ausgleichen können. In dem Bescheid der zuständigen Stelle steht auch, welches Niveau Ihre Ausbildung hat und welches Niveau in Deutschland notwendig ist.
 

Kenntnisprüfung
Wenn Ihre Berufsqualifikation nicht gleichwertig ist, können Sie eine Ausgleichsmaßnahme machen. Sie können eine Kenntnisprüfung ablegen, um die wesentlichen Unterschiede auszugleichen. Die Kenntnisprüfung orientiert sich an der Abschlussprüfung als Tierärztin oder Tierarzt in Deutschland.
Wenn Sie die Kenntnisprüfung bestehen und alle weiteren Voraussetzungen erfüllen, bekommen Sie die Approbation als Tierärztin oder Tierarzt.

Voraussetzungen

  • Sie haben eine Berufsqualifikation als Tierärztin oder Tierarzt aus einem Drittstaat.
  • Sie wollen in Deutschland als Tierärztin oder Tierarzt arbeiten.
  • Persönliche Eignung: Sie sind zuverlässig für die Arbeit als Tierärztin oder Tierarzt und haben keine Vorstrafen.
  • Gesundheitliche Eignung: Sie können psychisch und physisch als Tierärztin oder Tierarzt arbeiten.
  • Sie haben Deutschkenntnisse auf dem erforderlichen Sprachniveau. Das sind in der Regel Sprachkenntnisse auf dem Niveau B2 nach dem Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmen für Sprachen (GER) und medizinische Sprachkenntnisse auf dem Niveau C1.

Welche Unterlagen werden benötigt?

  • Identitätsnachweis (zum Beispiel Reisepass oder Personalausweis)
  • Eheurkunde (wenn sich Ihr Name durch Heirat geändert hat)
  • Lebenslauf
  • Nachweis Ihrer Berufsqualifikation (zum Beispiel Zeugnisse, Berufsurkunde)
  • Nachweise über Inhalt und Dauer Ihrer Ausbildung (zum Beispiel Diploma Supplement, Transcript of Records)
  • Nachweise über Ihre relevante Berufserfahrung als Tierärztin oder Tierarzt (zum Beispiel Arbeitszeugnisse)
  • Erklärung, dass Sie in Deutschland noch keinen Antrag auf Erteilung der Approbation gestellt haben
  • Sie müssen nachweisen: Sie dürfen in Ihrem Ausbildungsland in dem Beruf arbeiten.
  • Sie kommen aus einem Drittstaat und wohnen oder arbeiten noch nicht in der EU, dem EWR oder der Schweiz? Dann müssen Sie nachweisen: Sie wollen in Deutschland in dem Beruf arbeiten. Nachweise sind zum Beispiel Bewerbungen auf einen Arbeitsplatz, Einladungen zu Vorstellungsgesprächen oder ein Standortvermerk der Zentralen Servicestelle Berufsanerkennung (ZSBA).

Diese Dokumente geben Sie meistens später ab:

  • Nachweis Ihrer persönlichen Eignung: Strafregisterauszug oder amtliches Führungszeugnis. Der Nachweis darf bei Antragstellung maximal 3 Monate alt sein.
  • Nachweis Ihrer gesundheitlichen Eignung: Ärztliche Bescheinigung. Der Nachweis darf bei Antragstellung maximal 3 Monate alt sein.
     

Sie müssen die Dokumente in Form von Kopien einreichen. In bestimmten Fällen kann die zuständige Stelle beglaubigte Kopien der Dokumente verlangen.
Wenn Ihre Unterlagen nicht in deutscher Sprache vorliegen, müssen Sie deutsche Übersetzungen von Ihren Unterlagen einreichen. Die Übersetzungen müssen von Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzern gemacht werden, die öffentlich bestellt oder ermächtigt sind.

Welche Gebühren fallen an?

Die Kosten hängen generell von dem Aufwand für die Bearbeitung ab.

Zusätzlich können weitere Kosten entstehen (zum Beispiel für Übersetzungen oder Beglaubigungen). Diese Kosten sind individuell unterschiedlich.

Rechtsbehelf

Gegen den Bescheid der zuständigen Stelle können Sie innerhalb einer bestimmten Frist rechtlich vorgehen (zum Beispiel Widerspruch einlegen). Die Entscheidung wird dann überprüft. Details dazu stehen in der Rechtsbehelfsbelehrung am Ende Ihres Bescheides. Wir empfehlen Ihnen: Sprechen Sie zuerst mit der zuständigen Stelle, bevor Sie rechtlich gegen die Entscheidung vorgehen.

Was sollte ich noch wissen?

Vorübergehende Berufserlaubnis

Sie können eine befristete Berufserlaubnis beantragen, wenn ein besonderes Interesse besteht. Mit der vorübergehenden Berufserlaubnis dürfen Sie in der Regel bis zu 4 Jahre ohne Approbation arbeiten. Die Berufserlaubnis berechtigt nur zu eingeschränkten Tätigkeiten. Sie müssen für die vorübergehende Berufserlaubnis folgende Voraussetzungen erfüllen:

  • Nachweis Ihrer Berufsqualifikation
  • Gesundheitliche Eignung
  • Persönliche Eignung
  • Deutschkenntnisse: Sie müssen die Deutschkenntnisse nachweisen, die für die Ausübung des Berufs erforderlich sind.

Sie können die Berufserlaubnis bei der zuständigen Stelle beantragen.
 

Gleichwertigkeitsbescheid

Im Approbationsverfahren kann auch die Prüfung der Gleichwertigkeit Ihrer Ausbildung erfolgen. Für das Ergebnis der Prüfung können Sie bei berechtigtem Interesse einen separaten Bescheid beantragen.


Verfahren für Spätaussiedler

Als Spätaussiedlerin oder Spätaussiedler können Sie das Anerkennungsverfahren wahlweise nach den hier genannten Gesetzen oder nach dem Bundesvertriebenengesetz durchlaufen. Dies können Sie selbst entscheiden. Die zuständige Stelle berät Sie, welches Verfahren für Sie passt.

Fachlich freigegeben durch

Bundesministerium für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft

Bundesinstitut für Berufsbildung

Fachlich freigegeben am

26.01.2023

Quelle: Serviceportal Niedersachsen (Portalverbund des Bundes und der Länder)