klar
Hint:

For an area outside of Lower Saxony and foreign languages, some menu items and functions are not available. Please go to the service page of the respective country.

For Citizens - Service Finder

Enter your place of residence or the place where you would like to contact the administration or use the location determination.

Apply for a disability pension

The disability pension supports you if you can no longer work for health reasons and have not yet reached the regular retirement age. It replaces your income to a certain extent.

Before you can receive the disability pension, the German Pension Insurance checks whether rehabilitation can help you to make a living yourself again. These include medical and vocational rehabilitation, for example further training for professional reorientation or work aids.

The German Pension Insurance determines the extent to which you can still work on the general labour market. Depending on this, you will receive either

  • a full disability pension, or
  • a partial disability pension.

If, from a medical point of view, you are partially economically disabled and you are unemployed because there is no part-time job that is in line with performance, you can also receive a pension for full disability.

Even as a disabled person, you can receive the disability pension. This applies, for example, if you work in a special facility for the disabled and cannot work in the general labour market due to your disability.

How high your disability pension is depends on your pension account with the German Pension Insurance. Your annual pension information states what you can expect in the event of full disability. If you are only partially affected, half of this will be taken as a basis.

For younger people, it is not only the few previous years of employment that count. Rather, there is the so-called attribution period. It is the time between the onset of the disability and a certain, legally determined age. The attribution period will make you feel as if you had paid contributions up to this age.

If your pension begins before the age limit applicable to you, you will have to accept discounts. For each month you retire earlier, the discount is 0.3 percent, but a maximum of 10.8 percent overall.

If you receive a disability pension, you can earn additional income to a certain extent with a part-time job.

  • If you are fully reduced in earning capacity, you may only work less than 3 hours a day. If you earn more than EUR 6,300 gross per year, your pension will no longer be paid in full or possibly not at all.
  • In the case of partial disability, you may only work less than 6 hours a day. How much you are allowed to earn will be calculated individually.

An application for a disability pension does not mean that you are never allowed to work again. It is often possible to recover from serious health setbacks through targeted treatment and support. Your disability pension is usually granted for a limited period of time, for a maximum of 3 years. You will only receive a permanent pension in some exceptions.

Note: If you were born before 2 January 1961, you may be able to receive the "Partial Disability Disability Pension". This pension takes into account whether you can continue to pursue your previous profession.

Source: Serviceportal Niedersachsen (Portalverbund des Bundes und der Länder)

Top of the Page

klar

Für Bürger - Leistungsfinder

Damit wir Ihnen detaillierte und passgenaue Informationen liefern können, geben Sie bitte den Ort an, an dem Sie wohnen oder an dem Sie mit der Verwaltung in Kontakt treten möchten.

Erwerbsminderungsrente beantragen

Die Erwerbsminderungsrente unterstützt Sie, wenn Sie aus gesundheitlichen Gründen nicht mehr arbeiten können und das reguläre Rentenalter noch nicht erreicht haben. Sie ersetzt in gewissem Rahmen Ihr Einkommen.

Bevor Sie die Erwerbsminderungsrente erhalten können, prüft die Deutsche Rentenversicherung, ob Ihnen eine Reha helfen kann, Ihren Lebensunterhalt wieder selbst zu bestreiten. Dazu zählen medizinische und berufliche Rehabilitation, zum Beispiel auch Weiterbildungen zur beruflichen Neuorientierung oder Arbeitshilfen.

Die Deutsche Rentenversicherung ermittelt, in welchem zeitlichen Umfang Sie noch auf dem allgemeinen Arbeitsmarkt arbeiten können. Je nachdem erhalten Sie entweder

  • eine Rente wegen voller Erwerbsminderung oder
  • eine Rente wegen teilweiser Erwerbsminderung.

Wenn Sie aus medizinischer Sicht teilweise erwerbsgemindert sind und Sie arbeitslos sind, weil ein leistungsgerechter Teilzeitarbeitsplatz nicht vorhanden ist, können Sie ebenfalls eine Rente wegen voller Erwerbsminderung bekommen.

Auch als behinderter Mensch können Sie die Erwerbsminderungsrente erhalten. Das gilt zum Beispiel, wenn Sie in einer besonderen Behinderteneinrichtung arbeiten und aufgrund Ihrer Behinderung nicht auf dem allgemeinen Arbeitsmarkt tätig sein können.

Wie hoch Ihre Erwerbsminderungsrente ist, hängt von Ihrem Rentenkonto bei der Deutschen Rentenversicherung ab. In Ihrer jährlichen Renteninformation steht, womit Sie bei voller Erwerbsminderung rechnen können. Wenn Sie nur teilweise erwerbsgemindert sind, wird die Hälfte davon zugrunde gelegt.

Bei jüngeren Menschen zählen nicht nur die wenigen bisherigen Berufsjahre. Vielmehr gibt es die sogenannte Zurechnungszeit. Sie ist die Zeit zwischen dem Eintritt der Erwerbsminderung und einem bestimmten, gesetzlich festgelegten Lebensalter. Durch die Zurechnungszeit werden Sie so gestellt, als hätten Sie bis zu diesem Lebensalter Beiträge gezahlt.

Beginnt Ihre Rente vor der für Sie maßgeblichen Altersgrenze, müssen Sie Abschläge in Kauf nehmen. Für jeden Monat, den Sie früher in Rente gehen, beträgt der Abschlag 0,3 Prozent, insgesamt jedoch höchstens 10,8 Prozent.

Wenn Sie eine Erwerbsminderungsrente erhalten, können Sie mit einem Nebenjob in gewissem Rahmen hinzuverdienen.

  • Bei voller Erwerbsminderung dürfen Sie nur weniger als 3 Stunden täglich arbeiten. Verdienen Sie mehr als EUR 6.300 brutto im Jahr, wird Ihre Rente nicht mehr in voller Höhe oder eventuell gar nicht mehr gezahlt.
  • Bei teilweiser Erwerbsminderung dürfen Sie nur weniger als 6 Stunden täglich arbeiten. Wieviel Sie hinzuverdienen dürfen, wird individuell berechnet.

Ein Antrag auf Erwerbsminderungsrente bedeutet nicht, dass Sie nie wieder arbeiten dürfen. Oft ist es möglich, sich durch gezielte Behandlung und Förderung auch von schweren gesundheitlichen Rückschlägen zu erholen. Ihre Erwerbsminderungsrente wird in der Regel befristet bewilligt, maximal für 3 Jahre. Eine unbefristete Rente erhalten Sie nur in manchen Ausnahmen.

Hinweis: Wenn Sie vor dem 2. Januar 1961 geboren wurden, können Sie unter Umständen die „Rente wegen teilweiser Erwerbsminderung bei Berufsunfähigkeit“ erhalten. Bei dieser Rente wird berücksichtigt, ob Sie Ihren bisherigen Beruf weiter ausüben können.

Quelle: Serviceportal Niedersachsen (Portalverbund des Bundes und der Länder)

zum Seitenanfang